## **Executive Board:**

President – Shabrodrick Jones, Monroe Fire Department
1st Vice President – Lonny Taylor, Westwego Vol. Fire Co. #1
2nd Vice President – Kimmi Duncan, Covington Fire Department
Treasurer – Jason Kaufmann, St. Tammany Fire District 4
Immediate Past President/Secretary –

Amanda G Thibodeaux, Little Caillou Fire Dept./Westwego Vol. Fire Co. #1

ARKANSAS

County Map

County Map

Levislana

MISSISSIPPI

TEXAS

Definition

Levislana

Mississippi

Mississippi

Levislana

Levisl

## EMBERSHIP GUIDE

## FIRE PREVENTION ASSOCIATION



It all began at a Fire Prevention meeting in Baton Rouge, La on April 23, 1957. A small group of firemen got together and discussed the possibility of forming an organization consisting of Fire Prevention Bureaus throughout the state, for the purpose of education and reducing the number of arson fires in Louisiana. At this meeting, two temporary fire officers were appointed and tasked with notifying all of the fire departments across the state and coordination a joint meeting with the Louisiana State Firemen's Association to discuss their intent and purpose of such an organization. As a result of the correspondence mailed to the departments across the state, the founding fathers received a great response of interest from the vast majority of departments statewide. In June of 1957, the first official meeting was called to order. The group stated the purpose of the organization was being that of advancing Fire Prevention in the state by assisting each other and was opened to anyone charged with the responsibility of Fire Prevention, Fire Protection or Fire Investigation. At this meeting they voted to select a name for the organization, "The Louisiana Arson and Fire Prevention Association."

President – Terry Hayes Vice-President – Frank E. Domma Secretary-Treasurer – E.M. Tipton

2

0

S

Milton Pepper Lafeyette	1977-1978	Larry Raymond Galliano	1999-2000
James Pinell Baton Rouge	1979-1980	Glen Guidroz Terrytown	2000-2002
Neill Kirkland Ruston	1980-1981	Tom Cassisa Baton Rouge	2002-2004
Pat Bradford Shreveport	1981-1983	Jerome "Buddy" Smith	2004-2006
Ray Sandras Westwego Ronnie Schillace Hammond	1983-1985	New Iberia	
	1985-1987	Charles Stephens Port Allen	2006-2008
		Terry Thibodaux	2008-2010
Roy Pete	1987-1988	Harvey	
New Iberia		Kenny Hunts Brusly	2010-2012
Stephen Wells Hammond	1988-1990	Joe Ard	2012-2014
Gary Girard	1990-1992	Covington	2012-2014
Westwego		Ritchie Neil	2014-2016
Butch Browning	1992-1993	Hammond	
Baton Rouge	1993-1995	Ma <b>n</b> uel Toraño Westwego	2016-2018
Carland Maddox Hammond	1993-1999	Amanda G.	0010 0000
Phillip Crabtree Westwego	1995-1997	Thibodeaux Little Caillou/ Westwego	2018-2022
Mike Raymond Morgan City	1997-1999	ShaBrodrick Jones Monroe Fire Dept.	2022-

## The Louisiana Arson and Fire Prevention Association is divided into nine districts.

	District 1	Dist	rict 2		District 3	
	Caddo	Uni	on		Sabine	
	Desoto	Moi	ehouse		Nachitoches	
	Bossier	Wes	st Carrol		Winn	
	Red River	Eas	t Carrol		Grant	
	Webster	Qua	chita		Vernon	
	Bienville	Ricl	nland		Rapides	
	Claiborne	Mad	dison			
	Lincoln	Cal	dwell			
	Jackson	Fra	nklin			
	District 4	Dist	rict 5		District 6	
	Tensas	Bea	uregard		West Feliciana	
	Catahoula	Alle	n		East Feliciana	
	LeSalle	Eva	ngeline		Pointe Coupee	
	Avoyelles	Cal	causieu		East Baton Rouge	
	Concordia	Jeff	erson Davis		West Baton Rouge	
		Aca	dia		Iberville	
		Can	neron		St. Landry	
		V ei	milion			
	District 7	Dist	rict 8		District 9	
	Lafayette	St.	Helena		Terrebonne	
	St. Martin	Livi	ngston		Lafourche	
	Iberia	Asc	ension		St. Charles	
	St. Mary	Tan	gipahoa		Jefferson	
	Assumption	Was	shington		Plaquemines	
	St. James	St.	Гатту		St. Bernard	
		St J	ohn the Baptist		Orleans	

S

2

5

- To unite for mutual benefit, those public and private persons engaged in the control of Arson and Fire Prevention.
- To provide for exchange of technical information and development throughout the Association and the State.
- To cooperate with other law enforcement agencies and associations to further Fire Prevention and the suppression of crimes in Arson.
- To encourage high professional standards of conduct among Fire Prevention Personnel and Fire Investigators, in fire prevention and suppression of crimes.
- To provide quality training to persons charged with Fire Inspection, Fire Investigation and Public Fire Safety Education.

Original enactment of R.S. 14:403.4, also known as the Burn Law, spearheaded by Ronnie Schillace of Hammond in 1988. The purpose of the law is to combat arson through the rapid identification and apprehension of suspected arsonists who may suffer burn injuries during the commission of their crimes and to provide a central registry for burn injuries data from which effective fire and arson prevention and fire safety education programs may be developed.

**Recognition of Public Fire and Safety Control Activ**ities in the fire insurance rating process. This effort in 1990, headed by Steve Wells, also of Hammond, allowed Fire Departments with Fire Prevention Bureaus to be awarded up to two (2) bonus points in their fire rating. As a result, numerous departments improved their rating, translating into lower fire insurance premiums for local citizens.

The Louisiana Arson & Fire Prevention Association has held an Annual Training Conference since the reorganization in 1997.

Annual Training Conferences are typically held during the first week of June on Thursday, Friday and Saturday. Diverse classes are offered, including programs on fire inspection, fire investigation and public fire safety education. Training classes are open to anyone interested in these objectives.

Dues for the organization are \$10 per year. Life membership is bestowed to members who have 20 years of consecutive paid membership. Life members are exempt from annual dues.

S

ш

Z

⋖

S

Ш C

Z

Ш

2

Ш

ш

Z

0

4

